banner
This is the "Example: Botany Art" page of the "Faculty - Library support for a new class" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Faculty - Library support for a new class  Tags: new_course_proposal new_unit_support library_support_for_my_class subject_libguide library  

Are you interested in creating a new unit or course proposal? This is how the library is involved.
Last update: Jun 23rd, 2010 URL: http://libguides.gsc.edu/support  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates \"ShareThis\"

Example: Botany Art            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Why use libguides?

LibGuides is the amazingly popular, easy to use, web 2.0 library knowledge sharing system.  Librarians can distribute library content and services beyond the library website, and connect with patrons wherever they are. LibGuides is also a great add-on reference tool, enabling reference librarians to connect with users while they are doing research.

Academic Libraries Academic libraries use LibGuides for:

  • General subject guides Course guides to support faculty instruction
  • "How to" guides related to various library services
  • Teaching library instruction and information literacy
  • Collaboration with faculty on research and teaching.
  • Library Website Staff collaboration/communication

http://www.springshare.com/libguides/ 

 

New idea

If I was interested in creating a new unit for Art in a botany class, I should:

***

Search the GIL catalog to see how much material we have on the subject http://gil.gsc.edu

***

Search UGIL for titles to order in support of the class - submit requests Book Purchase Suggestion  or to Scott Kantor skantor@gsc.edu if I do not know the liaision for my subject.

Liasions: Scott Kantor - Social Sciences; Rebecca Homan - Science & Math; Teresa Pachecho - Humanities & Fine Arts; Marci Mangalitz - Education, Wellness & Business.

***

Search Galileo to see which databases have full-text support for my topic - art or science.  There is a link to the database periodicals list from Science & Technology database.  I can browse the titles and list periodicals that would support my class. [you do know that control key and F will give you a search box: type botany or another term]

Check Oxford Art Online, a collection of art encyclopedias and image collections. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. Content includes more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online. Thematic timelines and learning resources also provide users with tools for navigating the content. 

***

Look through Book Index with Reviews and bibliographies from publishers whose material is related to my topic, go to their website to see what new information is being published.  Request new material be added to the collection by contacting Scott Kantor. 

Other review sources may not include scholarly titles - Bookspot http://www.bookspot.com/reviews/, New York Times Book Reviews http://www.nytimes.com/pages/books/review/  or may be subject specific - Book reviews for Biblical Literature http://www.bookreviews.org/ or Education Book Reviews http://edrev.asu.edu/

 

***

Look for LibGuides that may have relevant information.  If I find one by another college, our librarians can adapt it to my needs. Google search terms: botany or botanical art libguide 

NO RESULTS - this is a new and unique topic!

***

Ask the Electronic Services Librarian to run a comparison report on Macon State or Valdosta State collections to see how much material may be required to support my subject in a new course proposal.  These two are designated by the state as comparison campuses.

***

Recommend websites that are useful to my topic - http://www.artplantae.com/;  Taxonomy & Systematics;  Index of Organism Names;  International Plant Names Index; Smithsonian

***

Faculty, you can also be an editor of the LibGuide and add your personalized information like http://libguides.gsc.edu/anime, the combined effort of Dr. Patsy Worrall and librarian Rebecca Homan

 

NOTE: This is the process I use when a new course proposal is brought to Academic Affairs.  If there is no support currently in the collection, I request additional funding to support the new course.

***

RESULT: Botanical Art LibGuide http://libguides.gsc.edu/BotanicalArt

 

 

RHoman

Rebecca Sewell Homan employeed 23 years by GSC.

Archivist, Bibliographer, and Associate Professor.

MLIS 1980, MEd 2007

 

Librarian

Profile Image
Rebecca Homan
Online Chat / Networks:
Twitter Logo
Contact Info:
campus phone: 678-717-3656
Office in the library on the Gainesville, Ga campus.
Schedule: Mon-Thurs 7:15-4:00, Friday 7:30-2 p.m.
Send Email
 
Gainesville Campus
3820 Mundy Mill Rd
Oakwood, GA 30566
P. O. Box 1358
Gainesville, GA 30503
Home | Research Tools | Tutoring & Instructional Support | Computer Labs | Contact Information | University System of GA Oconee Campus
1201 Bishop Farms Pkwy
P. O. Box 1748
Watkinsville, GA 30677
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait