banner
This is the "Databases" page of the "Sculpture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sculpture 

Studio Arts
Last update: Jun 23rd, 2010 URL: http://libguides.gsc.edu/sculpture  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Databases            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Databases

Electronic access is provided for students to Galileo: http://www.galileo.usg.edu/scholar/gsc/subjects/ 

Galileo Requires a password if you are off-campus conducting research.  Go to http://gil.gsc.edu and click on "Get Galileo Password" 

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. Photos will be included in the July 2008 updates.

ARTstor is a creation of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

The ARTstor Digital Library includes more than 80 collections with more than 700,000 images. These collections have been added to the library because the images have noted teaching or research value, or because the community has asked for a particular body of content. 

 A rich digital library of art images and descriptive information, as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. Content includes images from the fields of art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's software tools support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.

Ebsco Images consists of over 100,000 images from Academic Search Premier, Academic Search Elite, MasterFILE Premier, and Middle Search Plus, in the following categories:

  • 70,000+ photos
  • 30,000+ images from Canadian Press
  • 1,200+ maps from MapQuest
  • 500+ photos from public domain sources

The images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.

Results can be filtered by categories including:

  • Photos of people
  • Natural science photos
  • Photos of places
  • Historical photos
  • Maps
  • Flags

 

New York times ProQuest historical newspapers.   provides full-text access to five major national newspapers. Coverage includes full-text articles but not advertisements, illustrations, or photographs. The following newspapers are included:

  • Christian Science Monitor (1988-)
  • Los Angeles Times (1985-)
  • New York Times; Late Edition, East Coast (1980-)
  • Wall Street Journal; Eastern Edition (1984-)
  • The Washington Post (1987-)

Oxford Art Online provides access to Grove Art Online, a collection of art encyclopedias and image collections. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. Content includes more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online. Thematic timelines and learning resources also provide users with tools for navigating the content.

Additional content includes the following:

  • The Oxford Companion to Western Art
  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
  • The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
 

ArtStor

Loading
Loading Video/Audio Clip...
 

Librarian

Profile Image
Rebecca Homan
Online Chat / Networks:
Twitter Logo
Contact Info:
campus phone: 678-717-3656
Office in the library on the Gainesville, Ga campus.
Schedule: Mon-Thurs 7:15-4:00, Friday 7:30-2 p.m.
Send Email
 
Gainesville Campus
3820 Mundy Mill Rd
Oakwood, GA 30566
P. O. Box 1358
Gainesville, GA 30503
Home | Research Tools | Tutoring & Instructional Support | Computer Labs | Contact Information | University System of GA Oconee Campus
1201 Bishop Farms Pkwy
P. O. Box 1748
Watkinsville, GA 30677
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait