banner
This is the "World Religion" page of the "Religious studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religious studies  Tags: religion bible islam judaism christianity buddhism  

Dr. Ealey
Last update: Aug 23rd, 2010 URL: http://libguides.gsc.edu/religion  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

World Religion            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Websites

Academic Info: Religion Gateway (Mike Madin) - A directory of Internet resources for the study of religion.

Finding God in Cyberspace: A Guide to Religious Studies Resources on the Internet (John L. Gresham) - A guide to resources classified by religious traditions, academic disciplines, teaching resources, people, organizations, digital resources.

The Encyclopedia of Religion and Society
... is a project of the Hartford Seminary, one of America's leading non-denominational schools of theology.

The Pluralism Project at Harvard University
"Our mission is to help Americans engage with the realities of religious diversity through research, outreach, and the active dissemination of resources."
This website contains links to news about the religions of America and links to authoritative websites about the various religions in our country. 

The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life
The Pew Forum describes itself as "a non-partisan, non-advocacy organization" that is concerned with "issues at the intersection of religion and public life."  Its aim is to deliver "timely, impartial information to national opinion leaders, including government officials, journalists, policy analysts and national advocacy organizations."  This statement from their website gives some idea of the scope of their endeavors and outreach.

Religion Religions Religious Studies (Gene R. Thursby, Univ. of Florida) - A directory of Web sites indexed by religion. Also includes links to religious study programs, research & teaching sites and religious experience sites. 

Virtual Religion Index (Rutgers Univ.) - An excellent directory of religion resources categorized geographically and topically. 

Wabash Center: Guide to Internet Resources for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion (Charles K. Bellinger, Wabash Univ.) - This directory is designed to facilitate the teaching and study of religion. The links are arranged by subject (including religions) and material type (syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, websites, bibliographies, listserv discussion groups, liturgies, reference resources, and software).

 

Specific Religions

Biblical Studies

Resource Pages for Biblical Studies (Torrey Seland, Volda College) - Link to resources on early Christian writings and the social milieu of that era.

Buddhism

DharmaNet: Worldwide Net of Study, Practice, and Action (DharmaNet International) - Link to Buddhist studies databases, academic sites, and academic journals.

Christianity

Internet Christian Library (Institute for Christian Leadership) - Link to Christian resources on a variety of topics such as associations, missions, literature and early church documents.

Internet Padre (Ronald M. Vierling, Lansdale Catholic High School) - Links to Roman Catholic resources in dozens of categories. Also includes a glossary of catholic terms, a topical index of the catechism, index of catholic saints, and an index to a Catholic encyclopedia.

Islam

Islamic Studies: Islam, Arabic, and Religion (Alan Godlas, Univ. of Georgia) - Link to sites on Islamic religion, history, culture, politics, and geography.

IslamiCity.com Education Center (Tjara Networks, Inc.) - The Education Center of this site introduces readers to Islam through an essay on understanding Islam as well as discussions of culture & arts, history, and Islam & science. Other tools include a glossary and lists of Islamic schools.

Judaism

Jewishnet: Global Jewish Information Network (Shamash: The Jewish Network) - Link to sites on all aspects of Judaism and Jewish culture.

Shamash's Jewish Links (Shamash: The Jewish Network) - Link to sites on Judaism in categories such as Torah and Tanach, synagogue and temple, spirituality, holidays. Includes many cultural categories as well.

Philosophy of Religion

Philosophy of Religion (Tim Holt, Univ. of Sheffield) - Rather than simply linking elsewhere, theology student, Tim Holt, outlines various arguments in the realm of the philosophy of religion, such as arguments for the existence of God or for atheism. There is also a glossary and a library which features some classic texts in the philosophy of religion, such as St. Anselm's Proslogium.

Taoism

Taoism Information Page (Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library) - Link to resources on Taoism, including classical texts, and introduction to Taoism.

Women & Religion

Women-Related Religion/Spirituality Email Lists (Joan Korenman, Univ. of Maryland, Baltimore County) - Religion or spirituality email listservs relating to women.

 

Other

  • Bibliography of Asian Studies The online version of BAS covers mostly English publications concerning all parts of Asia. Subject to IP address verification.
  • Resources for the Study of Buddhism Compiled by Prof. Ron Epstein, San Francisco State University.
  • Buddhist Studies WWW VL
  • Buddhist Digital Library and Museum A comprehensive cyberspace for Buddhist studies, from the Center for Buddhist Studies, National Taiwain University.
  • Buddhism in the U.S. A special report with links from the Asia Society.
  • Buddhist Links from the Pluralism Project
  • Digital Library of India
  • Early Buddhist Manuscripts Project
  • Hindu Traditions Prof. Gene Thursby's annotated list of useful resources.
  • Hindu/Siva etext resources Contains a number of Hindu classics.
  • Hinduism Links from the Pluralism Project
  • Global and Local Hindu Traditions. Compiled by Prof. Vasudha Narayanan.
  • GRETIL Göttingen Register of Electronic Texts in Indian Languages.  Contains texts in Sanskrit, Pali, Prakrit, and New Indo-Aryan languages.
  • India Resources Page Prof. Gene Thursby's guide, which includes an extensive Religious Traditions section.
  • Indica et Buddhica: materials for indology and Buddhology
  • Internet Sacred Texts Archive.  Includes:
  • --Buddhism--Hinduism--Taoism, etc.
  • Taoism and Chinese Philosophy Compiled by Prof. Gene Thursby, UF Religion Dept.
  • African based

    • African Tribal
      religious beliefs and practices of the peoples of Africa. It should be noted that any attempt to generalize about the nature of “African religions” risks wrongly implying that there is homogeneity among all African cultures.
    • Ethiopianism  
      Rating
      religious movement among sub-Saharan Africans that embodied the earliest stirrings toward religious and political freedom in the modern colonial period.
    • Kimbanguist Church  
      Rating
      (“Church of Jesus Christ on Earth Through the Prophet Simon Kimbangu”), largest independent African church and the first to be admitted (in 1969) to the World Council of Churches.
    • Rastafarian - Encyclopedia Britannica  
      Rating
      religious and political movement, begun in Jamaica in the 1930s and adopted by many groups around the globe, that combines Protestant Christianity, mysticism, and a pan-African political consciousness.
    • Santeria
      Afro-Cuban religion
    • Santeria - Encyclopedia Britannica  
      Rating
      Santeria, also called Regla de Ocha, is an Afro-Cuban religion with roots in the religion of the Yoruba people of West Africa.
     

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Rebecca Homan
    Online Chat / Networks:
    Twitter Logo
    Contact Info:
    campus phone: 678-717-3656
    Office in the library on the Gainesville, Ga campus.
    Schedule: Mon-Thurs 7:15-4:00, Friday 7:30-2 p.m.
    Send Email
     
    Gainesville Campus
    3820 Mundy Mill Rd
    Oakwood, GA 30566
    P. O. Box 1358
    Gainesville, GA 30503
    Home | Research Tools | Tutoring & Instructional Support | Computer Labs | Contact Information | University System of GA Oconee Campus
    1201 Bishop Farms Pkwy
    P. O. Box 1748
    Watkinsville, GA 30677
    Description

    Loading  Loading content... please wait