banner
This is the "Databases" page of the "Anime" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anime  Tags: anime graphic novels cartoon animation  

Dr. Patsy Worrall and Rebecca Homan, librarian
Last update: Jun 23rd, 2010 URL: http://libguides.gsc.edu/anime  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Databases            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Other LibGuides

 

Journals2

  • Journals consist mostly of articles written by scholars and researchers, reporting in detail on their original research, and "peer reviewed" by other experts before they’re published.  Most are published by professional or academic organizations, for specialists in that field.

 

  • Journals are published regularly, like magazines, but most magazine articles provide more basic information, and are written for average people (or maybe fans and hobbyists).
 
 

Databases

Start in Research Library or Academic Search to find results for a topic. 

Then chose search terms and subject-related databases:

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. [Updates July, 08]

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (IBTD) expands on the 16-year coverage of its multi-volume predecessor with an additional 100,000 articles, essays and book chapters mined from internationally selected publications in drama, dance, media, mime, mixed entertainment, storytelling, music-drama, and puppetry. IBTD is a research tool for university theater and language departments, theater organizations, primary schools, social scientists and professionals within the field.

JSTOR  is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

Literature Online Reference (LION) is a collection of literary reference and criticism resources, including biographies, author bibliographies, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), essays from New Essays on the American Novel, and full-text articles from 103 literature journals. 1990-

Research Library provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines.  [Will correctly format citations]

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Dr. Patricia Worrall
Contact Info:
Gainesville State College
678-717=3691
Send Email

Librarian

Profile Image
Rebecca Homan
Online Chat / Networks:
Twitter Logo
Contact Info:
campus phone: 678-717-3656
Office in the library on the Gainesville, Ga campus.
Schedule: Mon-Thurs 7:15-4:00, Friday 7:30-2 p.m.
Send Email
 
Gainesville Campus
3820 Mundy Mill Rd
Oakwood, GA 30566
P. O. Box 1358
Gainesville, GA 30503
Home | Research Tools | Tutoring & Instructional Support | Computer Labs | Contact Information | University System of GA Oconee Campus
1201 Bishop Farms Pkwy
P. O. Box 1748
Watkinsville, GA 30677
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait