define journals
Journals consist mostly of articles written by scholars and researchers, reporting in detail on their original research, and "peer reviewed" by other experts before they’re published. Most are published by professional or academic organizations, for specialists in that field. Journals are published regularly, like magazines, but most magazine articles provide more basic information, and are written for average people (or maybe fans and hobbyists).
Journals2
- American LiteratureASC 1929- , JSTOR A&S 1929-1999 , RL 1997-2000
- Journal of Southern HistoryASC 2003- , JSTOR 1935-2003 , RL 2001-
- Language and LiteratureASC 2002-2004 , RL 2003-2004
- Mississippi QuarterlyASC 1995 - , CLRC 1996 - , RL 1996 -
- Notes on Contemporary LiteratureCLRC 2006 -
- Short StoryLRC 2006 -
- Southern Literary JournalASC 1993 - , CLRC 1988 - , RL 1997-
- Southern QuarterlyASC 2005 - , RL 2002 -
- Southern ReviewASC 1990 - , CLRC 1999 - , RL 1994 -
- Studies in Short FictionASC 1975 - 1999 , CLRC 1997 - 1999 , RL 1994 - 1999
- Studies in the novelASC 1975 - , CLRC 1999 - , RL 1994-
Databases
Start in Research Library or Academic Search to find results for a topic. Then chose search terms and subject-related databases:
Literature Online Reference is a collection of literary reference and criticism resources, including biographies, author bibliographies, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), essays from New Essays on the American Novel, and full-text articles from 103 literature journals. 1990-
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Oxford African American Studies Center features the new, three-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, published by Oxford in 2006; the three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine, published in March 2005, the highly acclaimed Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience.
Research Library provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines. [Will correctly format citations]
Librarian |
Contact Info: campus phone: 678-717-3656 Office in the library on the Gainesville, Ga campus. Schedule: Mon-Thurs 7:15-4:00, Friday 7:30-2 p.m. Send Email |
Description
Loading content... please wait




