Other help
Electronic access is provided for students to Galileo
Galileo Requires a password if you are off-campus conducting research. Go to http://gil.gsc.edu and click on "Get Galileo Password"
Plagiarism.org : Learning Center
Plagiarism Definitions, Tips on avoiding Plagiarism, Guidelines for proper citation, & Help Indentifying Plagairism
Engineers need communication skills. This maillist collects tips and help when interviewing for a job and working to your best ability.
Writing
www.ent.ohiou.edu/~valy/techwrite.html ~ for engineering student.
The writing center at Ohio University provides practical advices on writing style, referencing and illustration in technical writing.
www.lib.monash.edu.au/tutorials/citing/ieee.html~ for engineering student.
This site provides a summary on various citation systems. There is a section for IEEE citation conventions with explanations and examples. A brief discussion on plagiarism is also provided. The interactive exercise is very helpful in clarifying the concepts about plagiarism.
www.engineering.uiowa.edu/~ctc/handouts.html ~ for engineering student.
A brief discussion on technical writing is provided in this site. Main issues are explored in the form of question-and-answer. Although the information does not involve too much detail, it is simple and clear enough for people who have never written a research / technical paper before.
www.uwtc.washington.edu/programs/ecp/ewc/guides.htm ~ for engineering student.
This site is maintained by the writing center of the University of Washington. There are guidelines and exercises on grammar and writing style, as well as links to other resources such as online writing labs and electronic writing handbooks.
www.rpi.edu/web/writingcenter/handouts.html ~ for engineering student.
The writing center of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute NY provides guidelines for writing proposals, reports and theses for engineering students. There is also a section on resumé and cover letter. The discussion about writing abstracts and the use of articles is especially helpful.
www.engineering.utoronto.ca/about/programs/communication/online_handbook.htm ~ for engineering student.
This site is established and maintained by the writing center at the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering, University of Toronto. This site provides a highly useful online handbook that lists out the structures and required components of technical papers, reports and proposals. There are discussions and examples showing engineering students how to write an abstract, introduction, literature review and a conclusion.
Librarian |
Contact Info: campus phone: 678-717-3656 Office in the library on the Gainesville, Ga campus. Schedule: Mon-Thurs 7:15-4:00, Friday 7:30-2 p.m. Send Email |
Description
Loading content... please wait




