banner
This is the "Books" page of the "General Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

General Science  Tags: science general  

Science links, books, and other information for student teachers.
Last update: Jun 23rd, 2010 URL: http://libguides.gsc.edu/GeneralSC  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Books            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Internet links

  • A Short Dictionary of Scientific Quotations  
  • How Stuff Works  
  • This sites offers clear explanations about the operation of a wide range of things: car engines, VCRs, web pages, ATMs, chocolate, lightening, etc.
  • Scholary Societies Project  
    This site contains a searchable database of links to about international academic and scholarly societies. Societies are indexed in a subject guide or can be found by searching by name or abbreviation.
  • Science Careers   Career information from Science Magazine.
  • Science.gov  Gateway to selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies.
  • Scirus  A free, comprehensive science-specific Internet search engine.
 
 

  Library

Searching the Online catalog  Gil (http://gilfind.gsc.edu)  click > TUTORIAL

Use Keyword Search for a list of items in the GSC Library collection on your topic of interest. Combining terms will help to better focus your search. For example, instead of searching just the keyword "energy" (718 hits), you might try "energy conservation" (71 hits). Many titles will include [electronic resource] or [computer file] as part of the record.  These are electronic books available through databases like NetLibrary or Books 24x7.

The new feature includes Google Book Search,  a service from Google, that searches the full text of books that Google scans, converts to text using optical character recognition, and stores in its digital database.

Accessing Course Reserves

Go to Gil (http://gilfind.gsc.edu) Click Search Course Reserves. Select the Instructor’s name and your course. Click Search. Select the appropriate title. Bring the instructor’s name and the book title to the Information Help Desk to check out the item.

Searching UGIL

Use UGIL (https://giluc.usg.edu/)  to search the catalogs of all libraries within the USG system at one time, and to request items that are not part of the GSC library collection.  When you find a title you would like to use as a resource, click REQUEST.  Chose the name of the college where you are enrolled, type in your student id and your last name.  You will be ask you where you would like the book delivered, which may be any participating library around the state.  When the book arrives at the pick-up location you will receive an e-mail notice or you may track the items through your GIL account.

 

JUV

Material for the Elementary Education group with a reading level of 6th grade and below will be shelved in the stacks with PZ material.  Take the elevator up, when the door opens you are facing the JUV section.  Science topics will be Q-T call numbers with yellow JUV labels.

 

Librarian

Profile Image
Rebecca Homan
Contact Info:
campus phone: 678-717-3656
Office in the library on the Gainesville, Ga campus.
Send Email
 
Gainesville Campus
3820 Mundy Mill Rd
Oakwood, GA 30566
P. O. Box 1358
Gainesville, GA 30503
Home | Research Tools | Tutoring & Instructional Support | Computer Labs | Contact Information | University System of GA Oconee Campus
1201 Bishop Farms Pkwy
P. O. Box 1748
Watkinsville, GA 30677
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait